Retro Review: Let’s Get Lost by Ali Alsaid

Nov 9, 2014

lets get lost cover for blog

My Aunt gave me this book and I do admit when I first looked at it and turned it over to read the blurb I thought it sounded very cheesy, I judged a book by its cover, sue me. So I put it aside on my bookshelf and forgot about it, and then I started hearing about it online and I started seeing it pop up in my everyday life more and more and so I thought to myself, “Maybe I should give this a shot.” Two days later = BAM, finished it, loved it.

Leila is on a road trip to see the Northern Lights, all the way from Louisiana to Alaska. Along the way she meets Hudson; a small town mechanic, Bree; a runaway, Elliot; a victim of unrequited love and lastly Sonia; a confused girl questioning her ability to love. Each person Leila meets, she helps, she opens her heart and gives them everything.

Let’s Get Lost is written in five parts, the first four are from the perspective of the four people Leila meets, their story with her, and the last part is from Leila’s perspective after she continues the remainders of her journey by herself. Each part is like its own separate short story and could be read stand alone but when you read all the parts as a connected book you get a beautiful story about love, loss and what home really means.

Firstly, one gold star to Adi Alsaid for not including (if I remember correctly) the ‘commonYAline’ (as it’s known as on the social media); ‘I let out the breath I didn’t know I was holding’. Good job. Secondly, another gold star for writing mostly from the perspective of a teenage girl when you are in fact not a teenage girl.

It is a beautifully sweet and funny novel that takes you on multiple different journeys while not really straying into the territory of ‘That could never actually happen.’ At the same time, it is all too familiar. Everyone knows what it’s like to get rejected, like Elliot does. Many people know what it’s like to have to think about moving away or staying in your home town forever, like Hudson. You might know what it’s like to lose a loved one, like Bree and Sonia.

Some of the lines were a bit cheesy and the first chapter or so contained a few lines that I just did not like such as;

He only allowed a quick glance at her, knowing as soon as he saw her that she was the kind of girl who could make you think your life was not complete unless she was in it.

But then again I had to remind myself that this is a debut novel about a road trip and you’re bound to get in some cheesy lines here and there.

Let’s Get Lost was a nice quick read that still managed to leave a mark. It was funny and romantic and melancholy and I’m glad I finally picked it off my shelf and read it.

Love,

Audrey xoxo

Leave a comment