Retro Review : A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Grey

Please enjoy the first review in a series of reviews that I will be re-uploading from my old blog. I really liked this book and the series ended up bring brilliant too. Reading this review as I was putting it up hear was making me feel like re-reading it. Not like I don’t have enough stuff to do already.

Jan 11, 2015

Ok, so I have been looking at this book in bookstores for so long wishing that I owned it. One it us just gorgeous and two it sounded kinda cool (But I didn’t really know what it was about so mainly I just wanted it because it looked gorgeous and I kept seeing it online on tumblr and whatnot)

Then…CHRISTMAS HAPPENED!! And finally had this beautiful book in my hands (thanks Santa). I started it that day and finished it the next and it was just so brilliant. Ahhh. Read it!

a thousand pieces of you

Marguerite Caine has grown up with two scientist parents. Her whole life has been scientific theories at the dinner table and her friends consist of her fathers physics students. For years, her parents have been working on an instrument that could make multi-dimensional a reality. It would be called the Firebird, and anyone using it would disappear from their original dimension and could only travel to a dimension where they already exist.

Suddenly, Marguerite’s father is murdered and the killer, Paul, her parents handsome protege, escapes the dimension, using the only remaining Firebird. Or so he thought…

In comes Theo, the other handsome physics student of her parents. Now of course, he has saved and fixed the previously discarded prototypes and is ready to set of on an adventure to find Marguerite’s fathers’ killer and kill him too.

This book was amazing! Because:

1.I am quite a fan of both Doctor Who and philosophy and this book had both. Well it didn’t really have Doctor Who in it but it felt a little bit like that. There were philosophical discussions about the ethics of living in someone else’s body and living as them, without them knowing.

2. It had romance in it.

3. It had really obscure situations that Claudia Gray made work because they were in a different dimension and anything was possible.

4. It had some awesome quotes, example;

I meant it when I said I didn’t believe in love at first sight. It takes time to really, truly fall for someone. Yet I believe in a moment. A moment when you glimpse the truth within someone, and they glimpse the truth within you. In that moment, you don’t belong to yourself any longer, not completely. Part of you belongs to him; part of him belongs to you. After that, you can’t take it back, no matter how much you want to, no matter how hard you try.

and,

I can hardly bear to look at him; it’s like staring into the brightness and warmth of the sun, knowing that it’s burning you while understanding that it makes your whole life possible.

This book was funny and beautiful and sad. At times I felt so betrayed that I tended to yell out ‘No. What? No!’, so sorry for my family for having to deal with that. It was a little cheesy, I have to admit. It has some parts like this..

I fell in love with his unchanging soul.

and

I would love you in any shape, in any world, with any past. Never doubt that.

and

All I need here is you.

Now I’m going to go back and explain some things that I mentioned at the start, mainly because it kinda confused me in the book for a little while and I can imagine how it could be really confusing.

When someone travels through dimensions ‘their physical forms are “no longer observable,”‘ in their original dimension and they can only travel to a dimension where they already exist. This is because you take over the body of yourself in this other dimension. As Marguerite travels she has some fun exploring the lives of the different versions of herself. She was a rich high-end girl in one, a daughter of a marine biologist in another and even a Russian princess in another.

Also another thing that they talk about in the book that I really liked was the talk of fate. How no matter what dimension you originally live in and no matter how you grow up, you inner soul remains mostly the same. This was showed in the affection that Marguerite found towards a certain someone, no matter what the circumstances are.

So this was a bit shorter than my normal reviews and I think I some more quotes then normal so sorry guys, but I read this book two weeks ago and I can’t think of any negative things to right about so I didn’t want to keep repeating myself.

Ahhh, sorry guys

Love,

Audrey xoxo

Leave a comment